What is Kriya in Yoga? A Guide to the Spiritual Practice?

Kriya is a Sanskrit word that means “action.” What is Kriya in yoga? In the context of yoga, kriya refers to a spiritual practice that involves purification of the body and mind.

There are many different kriyas, each with its unique benefits. This blog post will explore what a kriya is and discuss some of the most popular ones. We will also provide tips for how you can incorporate kriyas into your own yoga practice!

Know About The Origin of Kriya Yoga

Kriya yoga is an ancient practice dating back to the 15th century. Its origins are rooted in tantra, an esoteric tradition of Hinduism that emphasizes the importance of self-transformation through ritual and meditation.

In tantra, kriyas are often used as a means to purify the body and mind in preparation for meditation. Over time, the practice of kriya yoga spread to other spiritual traditions, including Buddhism and Sikhism.

Today, it is practiced by people all over the world, regardless of religious affiliation.

What Are Techniques of Kriya Yoga?

Unlike other yoga practices, kriya yoga does not require special equipment or props.

All you need is your body and your breath. Kriya yoga is typically practiced in a seated position, with the spine straight and the eyes closed.

The breathing technique will vary depending on the specific kriya being performed, but all kriyas begin with slow, deep breaths.

Once you are comfortable with the breathing pattern, you can begin to add in the other elements of the kriya (mantra recitation, visualization, etc.).

The length of time spent on each kriya will also vary depending on its purpose. Some kriyas only need to be done for a few minutes, while others may be practiced for much longer periods of time.

One of the most important things to keep in mind when doing kriya yoga is that the practice should be done with a spirit of detachment.

This means that you should not become attached to the results of the kriya, but rather, focus on the act of doing it.

Kriya yoga is a journey, not a destination. The goal is to let go of what no longer serves you and make space for what does.

The Relationship Between Discipleship and Kriya Yoga

Kriya Yoga is an ancient meditation and breath control system that helps us still our minds and connects with the divine within us. It’s a powerful practice that can help us to transform our lives and deepen our connection with God.

Discipleship is a life-long process of growing in our relationship with God. It’s not a one-time event or something we do for a short period of time; it’s a journey that lasts our entire lives.

Is Kriya Yoga Dangerous?

No, kriya yoga is not dangerous.

However, as with any yoga practice, it’s important to listen to your body and go at your own pace.

If you have any medical conditions or injuries, please consult with a doctor before beginning any yoga practice.

In addition, it’s always a good idea to practice under the guidance of a qualified yoga teacher.

This will help ensure that you are doing the poses and breathing techniques correctly and avoid injury.

Is Kriya Yoga the same as Kundalini?

No, kriya yoga and Kundalini are not the same.

Kundalini is a more active form of yoga that includes both physical and mental exercises, while kriya yoga is a more passive form of yoga that focuses on breath control and meditation.

However, both practices can be used to improve your health and well-being and connect you with your higher self.

What Are the 6 Kriyas?

There are many different kriyas, but some of the most popular include:

1. Nadi Shodhana (Alternate Nostril Breathing): This kriya is said to help purify the energy channels (nadis) in the body and balance the left and right hemispheres of the brain.

2. Kapalabhati (Skull Shining Breath): This kriya is said to help cleanse the lungs and sinuses and improve circulation.

3. Ujjayi (Victorious Breath): This kriya is said to help calm the mind and ease tension in the body.

4. Bhastrika (Bellows Breath): This kriya is said to help improve lung capacity and increase energy levels.

5. Sitali (Cooling Breath): This kriya is said to help cool the body, calm the mind, and reduce stress and anxiety.

6. Sitkari (Sipping Breath): This kriya is said to help improve digestion and detoxify the body.

There are many different types of kriyas, but they all share a common goal: to help practitioners achieve a higher state of consciousness.

From another aspect, Kriyas can be divided into three main categories: those that purify the body, those that purify the mind, and those that purify the spirit.

Body kriyas are physical practices that cleanse the body of toxins and impurities. Examples include breathwork, mantra recitation, and meditation.

Mind kriyas are designed to quiet the mind and promote concentration. They can take the form of visualizations or affirmations repeated during meditation.

Spirit kriyas are intended to connect practitioners with their higher selves or a divine energy source. Common spirit kriyas include chanting, prayer, and offerings made to a deity.

How Should Beginners Do a Basic Kriya?

There are many different kriyas, but they all follow the same basic format. To do a kriya, you will need to:

Find a comfortable seat. You can sit on the floor with your legs crossed or in a chair with your feet flat on the ground.

Close your eyes and take a few deep breaths. This will help you to relax and focus your mind.

Start by focusing on your breath. Breathe deeply and evenly through your nose.

Once you have established a regular breathing pattern, you can begin the kriya itself. There are many different techniques, so be sure to consult with a qualified yoga teacher before beginning any new practice.

When you have finished the kriya, take a few deep breaths and sit for a moment in silence. Allow your mind and body to adjust to the changes that have been made.


Kriyas are a powerful tool that can be used to improve your health and well-being. However, it’s important to remember that they are only one part of the journey.

Be sure to live a healthy lifestyle, eat nutritious foods, and get regular exercise. In addition, make time for things that make you happy and connect with your higher self on a daily basis.

By following these simple tips, you will be well on your way to living a happy and fulfilling life.